Directors of Graduate Studies

Our directors of graduate studies are advocates for the academic and professional success of graduate students. They are the first point of contact for prospective and current students seeking information about a program.

Faculty and student talking

Meet the Directors of Graduate Studies 

Each degree program in the Graduate School has a director of graduate studies (DGS) who coordinates graduate studies for the department. They are primary points of contact for prospective students, current students, and The Graduate School. They provide academic support, ensuring that students are aware of academic expectations and policies. Use the directory below to identify the DGS for your Graduate School degree program.  

Program or Area of Study Degree(s) Offered Director of Graduate Studies Email Address Department Phone
African Studies MA, PhD Dr. Msia Clark msia.clark@howard.edu 202-238-2328
Anatomy PhD Dr. Sulman Rahmat; Dr. Janine Ziermann sulman.rahmat@howard.edu; janine.ziermann@howard.edu 202-806-6555
Applied Data Science & Analytics MS Dr. Amy Yeboah Quarkume amy.yeboah@howard.edu
Atmospheric Sciences MS, PhD Dr. Sonya Smith ssmith@howard.edu 202-556-1837
Biochemistry PhD Dr. Zaki Sherif zaki.sherif@howard.edu 202-806-6289
Biology PhD Dr. Shaolei Teng shaolei.teng@howard.edu 202-806-6935
Chemical Engineering MS Dr. Preethi Chandran preethi.chandran@howard.edu 202-806-6624
Chemistry MS, PhD Dr. Jason Matthews jsmatthews@howard.edu 202-806-6900
Civil & Environmental Engineering PhD Dr. Claudia Marin-Artieda cmarin@howard.edu 202-806-6570
Communication Sciences and Disorders PhD Dr. Ovetta Harris oharris@howard.edu 202-806-6990
Speech-Language Pathology MS Dr. Ovetta Harris oharris@howard.edu 202-806-6990
Communication, Culture, and Media Studies PhD Dr. Loren Saxton Coleman loren.coleman@howard.edu 202-806-4426
Computer Science MCS, PhD Dr. Danda Rawat danda.rawat@howard.edu 202-806-6585
Economics MA, PhD Dr. Omari Swinton oswinton@howard.edu 202-806-6774
Electrical Engineering PhD Dr. Su Yan su.yan@howard.edu 202-806-6585
English PhD Dr. Christopher Shinn cshinn@howard.edu 202-806-6730
Genetics PhD Dr. Byron Ford byron.ford@howard.edu 202-806-6381
Higher Education Leadership and Policy Studies PhD Dr. Kyndra Middleton kyndra.middleton@howard.edu 202-806-7342
History MA, PhD Dr. Jeffrey Kerr-Ritchie jkerr-ritchie@howard.edu 202-806-6815
Mathematics PhD Dr. Henok Mawi henok.mawi@howard.edu 202-806-7122
Mechanical Engineering PhD Dr. Grant Warner g_warner@howard.edu 202-806-6600
Medical Physics MS Dr. Rao Khan rao.khan@howard.edu 202-806-6245
Microbiology PhD Dr. Karl Thompson karl.thompson@howard.edu 202-806-6284
Nutritional Sciences MS, PhD Dr. Chimene Castor chimene.castor@howard.edu 202-806-7111
Pharmaceutical Sciences PhD Dr. Earl Ettienne earl.ettienne@howard.edu 202-806-7960
Pharmacology PhD Dr. Martha Davila-Garcia mdavila-garcia@howard.edu 202-806-6311
Physics PhD Dr. Pratibha Dev pratibha.dev@howard.edu 202-806-6245
Physiology PhD Dr. Joanne Allard joanne.allard@howard.edu 202-806-6330
Political Science MA, PhD Dr. Daryl Harris dbharris@howard.edu 202-806-6697
Counseling Psychology PhD Dr. Kyndra Middleton kyndra.middleton@howard.edu 202-806-7350
Educational Psychology PhD Dr. Kyndra Middleton kyndra.middleton@howard.edu 202-806-7350
School Psychology PhD Dr. Kyndra Middleton kyndra.middleton@howard.edu 202-806-7350
Clinical Psychology PhD Dr. Gishawn Mance gishawn.mance@howard.edu 202-806-6805
Developmental Psychology PhD Dr. Debra Roberts ddroberts@howard.edu 202-806-6805
Neuropsychology PhD Dr. Alfonso Campbell Jr. acampbell@howard.edu 202-806-6805
Personality Psychology PhD Dr. Jules Harrell jharrell@howard.edu 202-806-6805
Social Psychology PhD Dr. Lloyd Sloan lsloan@howard.edu 202-806-6805
Public Health MPH Dr. Pamela Carter-Nolan pcarter-nolan@howard.edu 202-806-4959
Social Work PhD Dr. Soleman Abu-Bader sabu-bader@howard.edu 202-806-7300
Sociology MA, PhD Dr. Christopher Gunderson chris.gunderson@howard.edu 202-806-6858
Graduate Certificate in Women's Studies Certificate Dr. Valethia Watkins valethia.watkins@howard.edu 202-806-4676
Graduate Certificate in International Studies Certificate Dr. Kamla Deonauth kbdeonauth@howard.edu 202-806-4676
Graduate Certificate in Faculty Preparation Certificate Dr. Kamla Deonauth kbdeonauth@howard.edu 202-806-4676
Graduate Certificate in Cybersecurity Certificate Dr. Danda Rawat danda.rawat@howard.edu 202-806-4676